POLICE OFFICER'S ASSOCIATION OF NEBRASKA

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

HOLIDAY INN MID-TOWN

GRAND ISLAND, NEBRASKA

NOVEMBER 1, 2005

President Towler called the meeting to order at 1120 hours.

There were 36 members in attendance.

Minutes from the October 5, 2004 meeting in Kearney, Nebraska were presented. Jim Peschong made a motion to approve the minutes. Rick Carmichael provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

Treasurer's report was presented. Dan Lynch made a motion to accept the report. Byron Patterson provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

OLD BUSINESS:

A. Retirement. Kim Christensen reported on two legislative bills regarding retirement plans for law enforcement in Nebraska . Kim and Andy Backman are representing POAN on a committee exploring various options. Kim reported that it is not felt a bill will get passed this upcoming legislative session, there has been some discussion about increasing the contributions for members in the first class cities to 7%. The issue of retirement generated much discussion from the membership. This resulted in a motion by Ike Brown, McCook PD, for POAN to hire a lobbyist to deal with the legislature at the appropriate time. James Gutsenritter, North Platte PD, provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

B. Website. Discussion about the website occurred. Creating a Members Only Section was discussed.

NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Elections:
- 1. Secretary/Treasurer:

Bill Larsen, Lincoln Police Department was nominated.

Jim Agler, North Platte PD, made motion for the nominations to close and that Bill Larsen be approved by

acclamation. Rich Hoagland, North Platte PD provided

a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

2. Second Vice-President:

Nominations:

Ed Burmood, Hastings PD

Kurt Bottorff, Fremont PD

Jim Agler, North Platte PD, made a motion for the nominations to close. Byron Patterson, Kearney PD,

provided a second. Kurt Bottorff was elected.

3. Board of Directors (two three year terms):

Nominations:

Jim Peschong, Lincoln PD.

Ron Fisher, Ogallala PD.

John Shaket, Hastings PD.

Jim Agler, North Platte PD, made a motion to close the Nominations. Byron Patterson, Kearney PD, provided a second. Jim Peschong and Ron Fisher were elected.

Dan Lynch, Kearney PD made a motion to destroy the ballots. Ike Brown, McCook PD provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote. Ballots were destroyed.

Motion was made by Jim Agler to move the First and Second Vice-Presidents up to the President and First Vice-President positions. Ron Fisher provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

- B. Scholarship Drawings:
- 1. Daniel Hanson, Broken Bow PD
- 2. Daniel Otis, Ashland PD
- 3. David Heinemann, South Sioux City PD
- 4. Andy Backman, South Sioux City PD
- 5. Kim Christensen, York PD

Mike Swain advised the 2006 Annual Conference will be September 24-27, 2006 in North Platte , Nebraska .

President Towler asked for any other new business, or anything else for the good of the order. Nothing was presented.

Rick Carmichael made a motion to adjourn. Jim Agler provided a second. Motion was approved by voice vote.

Meeting was adjourned at 1240 hours.

Respectfully submitted,

William H. Larsen

Secretary/Treasurer